Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

About the Institution

The Aristotle University of Thessaloniki is the largest university in Greece. The main campus is located in the centre of the city of Thessaloniki, and covers an area of about 33.4 hectares. It comprises 10 faculties which consist of 40 schools and 1 single-School Faculty.

Some educational and administrative facilities are located off campus for practical and operational reasons. A number of these facilities are located outside the city of Thessaloniki or even in other cities.

About 73.930 students study at the Aristotle University (65.026 in undergraduate programmes and 8.472 in postgraduate programmes, of which 3952 at Doctoral level). There are 2.024 faculty members. There are also 11 teaching assistants, 58 research fellows, 248 members of the Special Laboratory Teaching Personnel (S.L.T.P.), 69 of whom belong to category Ι and 179 to category ΙΙ, as well as 15 foreign language teachers and 4 foreign instructors. Faculty members are also assisted by 213 members of the Special Technical Laboratory Personnel (S.T.L.P.). The administration office consists of 400 permanent employees and 528 employees under a private law contract of indefinite duration. Moreover, 596 people employed by third parties provide services at the university.


About the Faculty of Engineering

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki|
Deanship of the Faculty of Engineering
Building A (Edron Building), 1st floor
University Campus
54124 Thessaloniki

During the first Hellenic Republic and due to the initiative taken by the government of Alexandros Papanastasiou, the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki was founded in 1925, thus becoming the second university in Greece. The “University of Thessaloniki,” as it was initially called, was founded pursuant to Law no. 3341/1925. About 30 years later, the Faculty of Engineering was founded (1955). The School of Civil Engineering was the first to open its doors.

Within a few years, the following schools were founded as part of the Faculty of Engineering:

  • the School of Architecture (in 1956-57)
  • the School of Rural and Surveying Engineering (in 1962-63)
  • the School of Chemical Engineering (in 1972-73)
  • the School of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering (in 1972-73)
  • the School of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering, which was divided into the School of Mechanical Engineering and the School of Electrical Engineering (in 1976-77)
  • the School of Mathematics, Physics and Computational Sciences (in 1982-83)
  • the School of Electrical Engineering, which was renamed School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (in 1993-94).
  • the School of Spatial Planning and Development Engineering (in 2004).

The Faculty of Engineering is administered by the General Assembly, which is the main administrative body, and the Deanship, which consists of the Dean and is responsible for implementing the decisions of the Faculty.

Like all other Faculties of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, the Faculty of Engineering is divided into Schools which are represented by the Chairs at the Deanship. Schools are divided into Departments which coordinate research and teaching, supported by laboratories.

About the Power Systems Laboratory

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki|
Faculty of Engineering
Building D
University Campus
54124 Thessaloniki

The Power Systems Laboratory (PSL) is a legal entity of the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering. The Laboratory is running since 1975 under its costitution set in the Greek Law (Government Gazette A85/29-04-1975).

Founder of PSL as well as its Director from 1978 to 2006 was Professor Emeritus Petros Dokopoulos. From 2006 to 2010 Professor Anastasios Bakirtzis was Director of PSL and from 2010 to 2013 Professor  Dimitris Labridis. Since 2013 Director of the PSL is Professor Grigoris Papagiannis. The PSL staff consists of 3 Professors, 2 Assistant Professor, 1 Lecturer, 6 postdoctoral researchers, 19 PhD students, and 1 member of administrative and technical staff

Additional documents to download:

Tell us what you think

Είσοδος / Σύνδεση
What Others Say: